Honorary President

Suzy Davies AM

suzySuzy has been the elected Assembly Member for South Wales West since the 2011 Assembly elections. She previously fought the Carmarthen East & Dinefwr seat in 2005 General Election and Brecon and Radnorshire in 2010. She is a former high street solicitor and is also a trained as a mentor to work with young offenders and vulnerable families. She has campaigned against the closure of community hospitals, schools, post offices and against loss of job opportunities.  She set up local Job Clubs to help unemployed people overcome barriers to work and now volunteers in the Bridgend area as a mentor with a charity which helps the over-50s into economic activity.

She has been a long-standing supporter of Swansea Conservative Future, attending a variety of events, despite her obviously busy schedule. She also spoke at January 2013’s ‘Wales CF Question Time’ as a panellist. Craig Lawton describes Suzy as “A true supporter of Swansea Conservative Future and the Swansea West Conservative Association.” He further recalls: “I remember in the 2012 Local Elections, it was a  Sunday, raining, and I couldn’t get anyone out to come and help. Apart from Suzy, she really never seems to take a day off, and for that, I am eternally grateful.”

Proposed by - Tom Giffard
Seconded by - Craig Lawton
Ratified - 19/04/2013

Honorary Life Members

gaskellJoshua Mark Gaskell

Josh Gaskell joined Swansea Conservative Future in September 2010, and served as Secretary of Swansea CF for two and a half years, until April 2013. Originally from North Wales, he is affectionately known as ‘Gaskfail, no matter what you think about Gaskell and his forthright views, it is almost impossible not to like him. Tom Giffard said “I proposed him as an honorary life member because he is a true Swansea CF institution. No matter if you’ve been to every social, or only one, he’s the one you leave the room remembering. He has worked as Secretary for two and a half years, and under my Presidency for one of those, and he truly cares about the welfare of Swansea CF and I know for a fact, that I wouldn’t be where I am without him. If you ask anyone to name any member of Swansea Conservative Future; Gaskell is the person they name. He is truly synonymous with us, and I will truly miss him.”

Proposed by - Tom Giffard
Seconded by - Myles Langstone
Ratified - 19/04/2013

Tory Of The Year

Alex Halsey –  2013-2014


Alex Halsey has been an active member in Swansea Conservative future since 2012 and it was strongly felt that he had made a valuable contribution to the group. Originally from the Isle of Wight, Alex has fully supported the Welsh conservative movement both politically and socially. Through his commitment to local conservative candidates (including PCC election candidates),  Alex has helped to spread his political beliefs to a wider audience.

Alex is also well respected and liked with Swansea CF and is always a welcome addition to all social events. He has even come up with some events himself (which im sure he will hand over to the Social Sec!).

Swansea CF awarded Alex this title due to his ongoing commitment to the group and his determination to see it and the local party develop.

Proposed by - Matthew Johnson
Seconded by - Tom Giffard
Ratified - 19/04/2013

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s